Monday, December 09, 2019
The skye times mobile

Voters are being reminded to make sure they are ready to take part in the UK Parliamentary general election taking place on Thursday 8 June.

Returning Officer for the three Highland constituencies, Steve Barron, CEX of The Highland Council said: “With just over two weeks to go until polling day I want to make sure that everyone knows how they can cast their vote on Thursday 8 June.

“On the day of the election Highland polling places will be open from 7am to 10pm. Voters should mark their ballot paper with one cross in the box next to their preferred candidate. Detailed information on how to complete your ballot paper will be available at every polling station and trained polling staff will be on hand to answer any questions.”

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday 8 June. You had to have applied to register to vote by midnight on 22 May in order to be able to vote.  

Your poll card will have been sent to the address where you are registered. It will say where your polling station is. You can only vote at the polling station that is stated on your own poll card. 

You can take your poll card with you to show the polling station staff when you arrive. They will still ask for you to confirm your name and address. If you don’t have it with you then you can just tell the polling station staff your name and your address and they can check whether you’re on the electoral register.  

Plan what time you will be able to cast your vote at the polling station, leaving plenty of time before the 10pm deadline.

If you are in a queue at your polling station at 10pm you will still be able to vote.

If you arrive at the polling station after 10pm then the poll will be closed and you will have missed your chance to take part.

In this election you can opt to vote in person, by proxy or by post. The deadline to apply for a new postal vote or a postal proxy application or to change an existing postal or proxy vote is 5pm on Tuesday 23 May. The deadline to apply for a proxy vote to appoint someone to vote on your behalf at a polling station is 5pm Wednesday 31 May. 

Voting will take place on Thursday 8 June with polling stations across the Highlands open from 7am to 10pm. The votes will be counted overnight at the Highland Football Academy in Dingwall. You will be able to follow the announcement of each of the constituency results from the Highland Council’s twitter feed - @HighlandCouncil

The candidates for the 3 Highland constituencies are as follows:

Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross:

Olivia Bell - Scottish Labour Party

Struan Mackie - Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Paul Monaghan -  Scottish National Party (SNP)

Jamie Stone - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Ross, Skye and Lochaber:

Ian Blackford - Scottish National Party (SNP)

Ronnie the Crofter, Campbell - Independent

Jean Davis - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Robert Mackenzie - Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Peter Ó Donnghaile - Scottish Labour Party

Stick Sturrock - Something New

Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey:

Donald MacLeod Boyd - Scottish Christian Party “Proclaiming Christ’s Lordship”

Ritchie Cunningham - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Drew Hendry - Scottish National Party (SNP)

Mike Robb - Scottish Labour Party

Nicholas Tulloch - Scottish Conservative and Unionist

An election helpline has been set up by the Returning Officer to assist with any queries you may have about taking part in the UK General Election .  The number is 01349 886657.  More information can be found here.

Site created by Intermedia Services (Stornoway) Ltd © 2017