Monday, September 16, 2019
The skye times mobile

Council chiefs have given the green light to move polling stations to five schools on Skye.

From May this year Kilmuir, Staffin, Dunvegan, Carbost and Kyleleakin Primary schools will all become the voting place for locals. All other polling stations will continue as before.

The decision comes after a review of Polling Places during which the public, politicians, community groups and those with expertise in access to premises for disabled people were invited to comment on the existing and proposed changes arrangements for Polling Districts and Polling Places.

After considering the submissions received and in conjunction with access surveys carried out by Ward Managers, a report went to committee members recommending that a total of 129 schools were suitable to be used as Polling Places and 96 Polling Places in other venues across the Highlands remain.

Highland Council's Director of Care and Learning has designated the 4 May 2017 as one of the fixed school In-Service days allowing, where possible and practicable, primary schools throughout Highland to be used as polling stations. Secondary schools will not be used in order to avoid any disruption to pupils sitting national exams scheduled at this time.

The approved revised scheme represents a saving to the Council of approximately £24,000 for the May local government elections.

Electors will be made aware of any changes to their local Polling Stations on their Poll Cards and published details of the new scheme, along with the representations received, are now available on the council’s website

Site created by Intermedia Services (Stornoway) Ltd © 2017